CIS as it is often referred to stands for Commonwealth of Independent States, which was created when the Soviet Union was broken up in 1991. Countries in the CIS include Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Russia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. The CIS is considered an ‘emerging area’ in banking, trade and finance.

← Return to the Knowledge Library

More Terms